top of page
2023_DMAwardsLogo+web background_1080wide_96.png
2023_DMAwardsLogo-CENTERED_dark choco.png

Welcome to the 2023 Dance Magazine Awards

A tradition dating back to 1954, the Dance Magazine Awards recognize those who have made outstanding contributions to the world of dance.

All net proceeds go to the Harkness Promise Awards, which provide support to early-career choreographers with $5,000 and 40 hours of studio space. To make a donation, visit

Welcome Remarks
Frederic Seegal, CEO & chairman, Dance Media
Chairman’s Award Presentation for Jim Herbert
Choreography: Andrea Miller
Music: “Pearls,” by Sade
Performers: Harrison Ball and Patricia Delgado 
Premiere: Chelsea Factory, October 2022
Linda Shelton presenting to JIM HERBERT
Harkness Promise Awards
Raja Feather Kelly introducing Joan Finkelstein
Joan Finkelstein presenting to KAYLA FARRISH* and JOHNNIE CRUISE MERCER
Presentation for Brenda Dixon-Gottschild
Video: Interview with Brenda Dixon-Gottschild, courtesy of PBS WHYY
Rennie Harris presenting to BRENDA DIXON-GOTTSCHILD
Presentation for Herman Cornejo
Kevin McKenzie presenting HERMAN CORNEJO
Presentation for Lucinda Childs
Excerpt from Étude 18
Choreography: Lucinda Childs, produced by Pomegranate Arts and created in honor of Philip Glass’ 85th birthday
Music: Philip Glass
Pianist: Anton Batagov
Performers: Kyle Gerry and Caitlin Scranton
Premiere: Kaatsbaan Cultural Park, September 2022
Yvonne Rainer presenting to LUCINDA CHILDS
Presentation for Dianne McIntyre
Excerpt from Love Poems to God, 1992
Concept: Hannibal Lokumbe and Dianne McIntyre
Choreography: Dianne McIntyre
Poetry and music: Hannibal Lokumbe
Original costumes: Brenda Brunson-Bey
Lighting: Melody Beal
Performers: Demetia Hopkins (dancer) and Tina Fabrique (singer)
Jawole Willa Jo Zollar presenting to DIANNE MCINTYRE
Presentation for Kyle Abraham
Excerpt from Love Letter (on shuffle) 
Choreography: Kyle Abraham
Music: James Blake
Costumes: Giles Deacon
Lighting: Dan Scully 
Performers: Harrison Ball and Jonathan Fahoury, courtesy of New York City Ballet
Charmaine Warren presenting to KYLE ABRAHAM
Closing Remarks
Joanna Harp, president, Dance Media
The Selection Committee for the
2023 Dance Magazine Awards Includes
Dance Magazine editor at large Wendy Perron (committee chair)
Master teacher Sheila Barker
Dance Magazine contributor Joseph Carman
The Dance Edit editor in chief Margaret Fuhrer
Dance Media president Joanna Harp
MoBBallet founder Theresa Ruth Howard
Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre artistic director Susan Jaffe
New York City Center vice president for programming Stanford Makishi
Dance Magazine senior editor Lydia Murray
Former American Dance Festival director Charles L. Reinhart
Dance Magazine Awards Team
Maria Caprio, Josephine Daño, Joanna Harp, Amy Jones, Raymond E. Mingst, Caitlin Sims
Stage manager: Jana Prager
Video editor: Meghan Keeney
Chelsea Factory crew:
Executive director: Lauren Kiel
Managing director: Donald Borror
Director of production and venue operations: Barry Stagg
Production manager: Duncan Gallagher

*Kayla Farrish Choreography made with collaborations:
Martyr’s Fiction- Film Excerpt
Nik Owens, Kayla Farrish
Camera: Kerime Konur, Jake Kruty, and Joe Hill
To Dream A Lifetime
Kayla Farrish
Black Light Summit at the Clarice
Roster- Open Air Series (Four/Four Presents)
Kayla Farrish, Melanie Charles
Anya Clarke, Kayla Farrish, Gabrielle Loren, Kerime Konur, Mikaila Ware
Sunny Side- Inside the Laughing Barrel
Kayla Farrish, Ben Stamper, Melanie Charles, Naomi Extra
Armstrong Now!- Louis Armstrong House Museum


Dancemedia Foundation logo.png

The 2023 Dance Magazine Awards is sponsored in part by: 

92NY150_GOLD_CMYK-no background.png
bottom of page